Solution to the Green Screen of Death.

gsod

As some of you may know, I bought a new computer last week, featuring Windows 8.1.  For the most part, I have been very satisfied with its performance, and ease of access.  I did have one problem that refused to go away, and my wife was experiencing the same problem.  When we went to videos, and pressed play, we would hear the video, but the screen was completely green.

Over the week, I tried different things to try to resolve the issue, and while I had temporary success, the problem would come back with a vengeance.  After looking up the problem on Google, and finding out that many others are having the same problem, so once I found the solution, I vowed to tell those others what I did in hopes that they would have the same success.

This morning, I found someone who gave an answer, and after trying it had very limited success until I added one last step, and as if by magic, everything works.  Here is what I did to fix it, and I hope you have the same success.

Drag the mouse to the lower left hand corner of the screen to call the Windows icon.  Right click on that.

Click on “Control Panel”.

Click on “Network & Internet”

Click on “Internet Options”

Click on “Advanced”

Under the accelerated graphics, check mark “Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering”

Scroll down to the security section, and check mark “Enable 64-bit processes for enhanced protected mode”

Click “Apply”

Click “OK”

Here’s the part the person left off that completes the process.  Restart the computer.

After all this, I checked every video site and they all work.

I hope this helped, and please share this so that others with the same problem can find peace of mind; or at least stop their wife’s nagging about fixing her computer. (Yes, this happened to me.)

enjoy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

