Keep motivated

My fitness goal is to fit into size 32 pants by January 31, 2016. This goal is not that easy, and it was an 18 month goal in the beginning. With such a time frame to accomplish such a personal goal, I began to wonder what will keep me motivated for so long. This morning when I woke up, I was giving it some thought, and I jotted down some ways I heard that have helped others.
Don’t make it a job, and have fun. When doing anything, whether lifting weights, or learning an instrument, don’t be afraid to have fun with it. When lifting weights, be safe, but don’t be afraid to change up the routine. This will keep your body guessing, and moving in the right direction; it also has the effect of keeping you from getting bored with the same old routine.
Keep the end in mind. This is also called visualizing. Gymnasts visualize themselves performing perfect routines; runners visualize themselves crossing the finish line. When you are lifting weights you need to visualize yourself having that body you want, or getting into the pant size you want to fit into. Visualization allows you to go beyond where you are right now. When you do this, you need to see yourself already in possession of your desire. If you see yourself as not possessing your desire, it will tend to keep you exactly where you are.
Find people who encourage you. You can’t choose your family, and you can’t always choose who you work with, but you can, and must choose who you hang out with. Hanging out with positive people will make you feel good about yourself, and keep you motivated. Good friends will build your confidence, and give you that extra push when you hit the rough times. Negative people will only drain you physically, and emotionally, and try to hold you down on their level.
Be grateful for every success, no matter how small. The best way to accomplish a big dream is to break it into smaller goals. When I was growing up, my family would go camping in a particular valley, in the Rocky Mountains. In order to get to the camp site, we had to walk 3 miles down an old path. The first time I went, I was complaining how hard it was. My dad told me that every step I take brings me one step closer to the camp site. Over the years, I learned to be grateful for every step I take toward any goal, because it is bringing me one step closer to my dreams.
It doesn’t matter if your dreams are big, or small, the important thing is to be persistent and hold on to that feeling you had when you first had the idea. You will have good times, and you will have bad times, but if you have fun, keep the end in mind, find positive people to hang out with, and if you are grateful for every little success, you will keep yourself motivated to complete the journey successfully.
Allen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

