Changing Perspective with a Focus Statement

It goes without saying, but I’m saying it anyways, that 100 percent of people around the world have problems, and worries. The sad part of this figure is that 99 percent of the population have become victims of these problems and worries, and use these as an excuse of why they are unable to succeed. A few years ago, a small percentage of these people took it on themselves to speak for the 99 percent, and complain about those who learned to succeed in spite of their problems. Successful people have problems and worries, just like everyone else; they just don’t focus any attention on them. What we are talking about here is perspective.
When I first started with my job, I believed that my job was hard. I found it difficult to get through big nights, and my percentage remained at less than 90 for years. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get past that 90 percent. The supervisors would right me up, use threats of disciplinary action, all to no avail. A couple of years ago, I started studying success, and something hit me. I was focusing on the problems I was having getting my speed up. I was spending all my time worrying about the consequences of not improving. I was not focusing on what I wanted to see, which was a better percentage, and work speed. I then learned about auto-suggestion, and came up with a focus statement, “every day I am working faster, and more efficient.” I would start each day at work with saying that to myself, for 15 minutes. Within 2 months, I noticed that my percentage and speed was noticeably increasing to both me, and my supervisors.
I was recently able to give someone the same idea of a focus statement, and he’s been seeing similar results. Before he came up with his own statement, he asked what I thought about the statement “I don’t want to be slow.” The problem, I told him, with this statement was that he was still focusing on being slow. I told him that to make it work in a positive direction, it has to be a positive statement.
When we take a problem we’re having, and create a positive focus statement, we change our perspective, and open ourselves up to the positive. Here’s my way of overcoming my weaknesses at work. The problem was low productivity, and trying to justify why I was so slow. My first step was to take responsibility, and get rid of the excuses. I knew I didn’t want the low productivity, so I had to decide what I did want, higher productivity. Then I came up with my focus statement, “I am working faster, and more efficient.” Then I would repeat this daily until it became a regular part of my thinking, and whatever you focus your attention on will cause your body to react. Eventually your body will perform the actions required without thinking about it.
This is not the only way to change your life in a positive direction, but it is the one that has helped me the most. The only advice I have for you, if you have problems that still seem overwhelming, learn what others have done, and pick the method that works best for you.
Allen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

