Accidental Awakening.

Before I tell you the main story, with my point, let me start with a background story.

When I was twelve, I was told I have a talent with paints, and having a mom who is a painter, I decided to ask her to teach me.  She happily agreed, and set me up, as well as my 10 year old brother (he wanted to learn too).  My mom started teaching us, and we worked hard for an hour.  One thing to keep in mind here, I was a horrible perfectionist, when I was twelve; I am still working on that today.  My mom’s came out fantastic; my brother’s was really good for a ten year old.  Mine looked like a three year old had got into oil paints, and ran all over the canvas.  Right then, I declared myself a talentless hack, and I haven’t picked up a paint brush since then.

That incident took place in 1979.  A couple of weeks ago, I went into an art store, looking for something cheap to make a point in a photography video I’m working on.  Finally deciding on a cheap watercolor set, I brought it home, and thought it would be fun to goof off, and make a fun painting.  I found a photograph I took of a particularly colorful sunset, and started trying to paint it.  After some mistakes, and corrections, it didn’t come out too bad.  I’m not saying it’s going to win any awards, but for a person with no training, and who was just “goofing off”, it wasn’t half bad.

This moment that I like to call an accidental awakening;  a chance moment that awakens a dormant part of your mind; has had me running out to buy art supplies, and books on learning the fundamentals of drawing, and painting.  My mother was ecstatic that I was going to give it another chance.  My goal for this year is to paint a beautiful landscape, like I wanted to when I was twelve.

here is the picture I painted that started my new goal.

watercolor

There is a saying, “If you don’t use it, you will lose it.”  I don’t believe that anymore.  I believe that if you don’t use your talent, it will become dormant until something happens, by chance, that may awaken your passions for the talent you thought you lost.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Accidental Awakening.”

  1. buffalostarmedicine Says:

    I happen to find your painting very beautiful! In fact, I’m tempted to copy it and use it as a desktop on my computer.

  2. Fillandra Says:

    I believe that giving your painting spirit and heart is way more important than technique. And your painting is alive, I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

