Lessons from a Turtle!!!

I don’t get out to Hinkley Park as often as I like, but I will always be grateful for one thing; that is, the lesson I learned at this park.

A few years ago, I would ride my bike past this park almost daily, but it looked more like a parking lot with a power station.  The only indication I had that it was a park was the sign next to the road.  When I did get around to going further in, I was highly surprised to find a beautiful nature trail surrounding two beautiful ponds.

At this point I think I should back track a little.  I’m the type of nature photographer that has a list of subjects that I want to photograph while I still live in Maine.  One of those subjects was a turtle sunning itself out of the water.  This is where Hinkley Park came in handy.

Now that we’ve circled that wagon, it’s time complete the circle and talk about the lesson I learned from this.  When I first started walking around the ponds, I heard there were turtles in them, and that this was a great place for finding them, however, I couldn’t find them at first.  Two years ago, I was walking around taking shots, with no real direction when I saw a turtle by accident, swimming under the bridge I was crossing.  After a short time, and a little more practice, I got to the point where I couldn’t stop finding them.

Now, every time I go to Hinkley Park, I can take as many shots as I want, because I know how to find them.

The lesson I gained from this, for those who didn’t get it yet, when you have a hard time finding solutions to problems, always remember the solutions are there.  All you need is a little time, and practice, before you start seeing them all the time.

Can you find the turtle in this?

Leave your answer in the comments below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

