Nanowrimo day 7

Today was day seven of the nanowrimo, and I just barely squeaked by, hitting my word total of 11,709 words.  First off, let me just say that, with my schedule, if I can write a novel in a month, anyone can.

Last year, I made it up to 7,000 words, and then got completely distracted.  Being able to make it up to 11,000 words for me is quite a feat.  Now I know the myths.  “People who write novels have no life.”  and “Only certain types to be able to write.”  I say myths because that is exactly what they are.  I’ve made it this far, and I have a very hectic schedule.

To answer the second question, you don’t have to be a literary genius to write 50,000 words in a month.  Your first draft is going to be garbage, accept it.  Nanowrimo is not about writing a sell-able novel in a month; it’s about putting 50,000 words on “paper”.  If you want to know what that breaks down to on a daily basis, it’s about 1667 words a day.

Now that may seem like a tall order, it’s not so hard as it may seem, if you don’t edit, stop to correct, or give up.  In my experiment last month, to see if I could do it, I took a writer’s prompt, and just wrote without stopping, for two hours, and came up with 1700 words.

It can be done, you just have to motivate yourself.  Besides the great feeling that I can do it, I have a reward system for reaching my daily word goal.

As most people know, I love watching movies, but they can be a terrible distraction from writing.  I made up my mind that until I reach my word goal, I can’t watch a movie.  I even go so far as to pick out a movie, put a post-it on it with the word count, and put it right in front of me.  It’s kind of the same as putting a carrot in front of a horse to get it to move.

The reward you choose doesn’t have to be big, it just has to motivate you to do something.

If you have a dream to do something, but don’t think you can meet the daily requirements to get there, try a reward system, that will motivate you to get busy and make your dream come true.

This is what my first week in nanowrimo has taught me.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

