Making your business name stand out

We’ve all heard the saying, “You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression”, but when we start a business, we don’t put enough thought into the first thing people see, our business name.  There are many things to do when you start a business, and the name is at the top of the priority list, but unless you choose one that stands out, you won’t get enough business to succeed. So how do you make your name stand out?  There are quite a few things you can do to make it stand out, but here are a few tips that might help.

The first thing you should do when naming your company is to make it say something about your business.  This may seem obvious, but you’d be surprised at how many first time business owners get this wrong.  To have a business called “McKenzie and associates” doesn’t tell you anything about what the business is without a follow up description like, “legal services”.  If you want to stand out more, you can make it even more specific.  There is a business here in Maine called “Ankle & Foot associates.”  If you have foot or ankle problems, you don’t have to call dozens of businesses to see if they can help, this name is an obvious choice.

Another thing to consider when coming up with a name is whether your name is unique.  When I originally chose my name, it was “Bradford Photography.”  After looking it up online, I found over 100 companies with the same name.  If I wanted my business name to stand out I had to come up with something a little different.  My business had more than photography; it also had writing and photographic design as part of it so I went with productions.  The only problem with “Bradford Productions” is that Bradford is too common a name to make it unique, so I turned to something from my area.

I live one block from the “Portland Breakwater Light.”  That name would be too long for a business name but it has a shorter, less known, nickname, “Buglight”.  I liked the sound of the name, so I tested it.  “Buglight Productions” had a nice sound to it, and when I looked it up there was only one other business with that name, which in my book makes it unique.  This brings me to my third tip; keep it short and simple.

If I had used “Portland Breakwater Light Productions”, it would have been hard for people who used my services to spread the word, and remember the name for future services.  The longer the name, the easier it is to forget.  With only two words in the name, it becomes much easier to recall.  You will need that advantage if you want to spread your business name.

Remember this one thing, the name of your business, if chosen well, can become your best advertisement, and a great way to make a first impression.

Enjoy,
Allen

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

