Book reviews on youtube

As I reflect over the past failures of my youtube channel, ‘APB148’ the words of Polonius to his son Laertes hit me like a slice of lemon wrapped around a large gold brick.  “This above all, to thine own self be true.”

The problem with my channel, I realized, was I was trying too hard to be like the other, more successful, youtubers.  When I started my channel, I had the idea that it would be a decent channel, family safe that would inform, as well as entertain.  The only part of that I accomplished was the family safe part.  Last night I reached a decision on how to proceed in the future.

My channel is going to do book reviews on the books that most schools have on their reading lists.  This will include classics, as well as contemporary.  My format is simple; I will start by either reading the first five sentences, or reenacting a scene.  Then I will do the review, which will include the technical aspects of the book, and how well it ends.  Then I will give my recommendation on whether it’s a good read or not.

I do not believe in banning books, but there are certain books that don’t belong on required reading lists, like “The Catcher in the Rye”.

Here’s my challenge for you, I would like to know what books you think I should review.  It would help me know the way to start.

Enjoy,
Allen

Please leave a comment below

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

