Be patient

“Everything worth having is worth waiting for.”  Patience is a commodity that so many people seem to have lost.  Two of the rules I have are “I always get what I want,” and “I never quit till I get it.”  If you noticed, the word “now” is not part of that.

Working in retail, I’ve had my share of customers who throw temper tantrums if their work is not done at the exact moment they said they wanted it.  I had one woman screaming at me because the owner didn’t have her Christmas cards ready on November 21st at 2:00 in the afternoon.  According to her, we ruined her Christmas.  We had them done at three.  Of course, we still ruined her Christmas.

I believe we live in a spoiled society that prides itself on convenience.  Meals are done in a few minutes; information is available with the touch of a button.  We can go shopping for almost anything in one building.  With all this convenience, people have got into the mentality of “I want what I want, when I want it” They never stop to think there might be a cost for impatience.

Of course, you have to be patient with yourself.  Rome wasn’t built in a day, and the same applies to anything you do.  In all the time I’ve been writing, I am just now getting to the point that I can start selling my work.  If I had started too soon, I wouldn’t have known enough to write with any quality whatsoever.

I’m not perfect yet, and I probably never will be, but I have learned enough to move forward to my career in writing.  Everything we do takes time to learn. Training and experience are two steps that can’t be skipped.  Sure, maybe you might know someone who can move you through the system faster, and get you to the top. Unless you know what you’re doing, you will do a substandard job that can get you fired. Even worse, the company can lose customers, and close its doors, all because you wanted to be airlifted to the top of the ladder.

Don’t rush your work.  Take the time it needs to get it done right.  If you are impatient to get the job done, so that you can leave early, or move on to the next job, you will make mistakes, and have to do the work over.  If you have to do it over, you will spend more time correcting your mistakes than you would have taken to do it right the first time.

I’m not saying you should waste your time either.  Don’t take so much time that the job never gets done.  Try to get it done in the right amount of time.  Another way to put it is be patient, but not lazy.  When you work, work hard, learn how to do your job well, and be creative in making it more efficient.  It will come to you.

You have to be patient with yourself first, then you need to be patient with others.  When you are patient with others, you will get better service and quality out of that person.  By showing patience, and respect to others, you will get it back from them.

One last word on this, patience brings success, and impatience brings failure.  A tree grows and bears fruit in its own time, and we should let our projects grow in their own time, and see the fruit it bears.

Challenge:  Don’t push something to happen faster than it should, and you will have the best results.

Enjoy,
Allen

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Be patient”

  1. gigi1953 Says:

    Another valuable blog, Allen. Wow. Patience. One of the most difficult virtues to achieve. Keep up the good advice!

    • apb148 Says:

      Carol, thank you for the comment. I admit it, even though I’m a nature photographer, and have to have patience, there are times when I lose that patience. Yesterday being one of those days. Sometimes I write blogs to remind myself what I need.

  2. Laura F Says:

    Patience is a virtue that unfortunately I have not yet been blessed with. It seems like I would have more patience by now having two high strung sons and aggravating (for lack of a better word) husband. I try to take things day by day and one step at a time but I always seem to be in a hurry to get things done. Great blog! “Patience brings success, and impatience brings failure”. I am definitely going to write that down and put it somewhere that I see it often. Wonderful!

    • apb148 Says:

      Thank you for the comment Laura. I understand the situation. My wife had a mini-stroke a couple of years ago. I literally have to take care of her, and she is very critical of everything I do. I have to constantly remind myself to be patient. This blog was a way to do just that.

Leave a Reply

